Mindy Brashears, the fifth in historical previous confirmed USDA Underneath Secretary for Food Security, acknowledged goodbye to her user, authorities and industry stakeholders January 14.

Her political appointment because the federal authorities’s prime food safety reliable expired a week afterward Inauguration Day, ending her two-year tenure, alongside with 303 days because the Senate-confirmed under secretary for food safety. Whereas looking ahead to the Senate to verify her on March 23, 2020, she served from January 2019 as deputy under secretary.

Since Jan. 20, the new administration has had extinct FSIS boss Paul Kiecker filling in for the departed Brashears the Performing Underneath Secretary.   The appointment of Sandra Eskin as Deputy Underneath Secretary for Food Security is seen as significant due to her previous work on the Pew Charitable Trusts.

However, the finish food safety job remains vacant. No name has been submitted to the Senate.

The USDA’s Food Security and Inspection Service (FSIS) this week published its public calendar for the essential two months of the new year, which integrated Brashear’s final days in energy. 

When Brashears took the finish food safety job, she used to be a professor within the Division of Animal and Food Sciences within the College of Agricultural Sciences and Nationwide Sources at Texas Tech University. Quickly before the November 2020 presidential election, TTU officials extended her trail away for an additional year. The federal authorities paid her TTU salary while she used to be on trail away.

And TTU has welcomed her reduction. Brashears used to be named because the Roth and Letch family Endowed Chair in Food Security at Texas Tech University. 

Her final conferences with user and industry representatives had been by teleconference due to coronavirus precautions.   

FSIS officials who joined Brashears within the user assembly had been: FSIS Administrator Paul Kiecker, Deputy Administrator Terri Nintemann, Performing Chief of Personnel Atiya Khan, and Chief Operator Officer Jeremy Todd Reed.

Here is the invitation checklist for user representatives as posted by FSIS:

  • Teleconference Attendance
    • Angela Anandappa, Alliance for Evolved Sanitation
    • Mitzi Baum, Quit Foodborne Illness
    • Aaron Beczkiewicz, Middle for Foodborne Illness Analysis and Prevention
    • Patricia Buck, Middle for Foodborne Illness Analysis and Prevention
    • Zach Corrigan, Food and Water Look
    • Chuck Czuprynski, UW-Madison Food Analysis Institute
    • Thomas Gremillion, Consumer Federation of The United States
    • Michael Hansen, Consumer Reports
    • Jaydee Hanson, Middle for Food Security
    • James Kincheloe, Middle for Science within the Public Curiosity
    • Rachel Lyons, UFCW
    • Jaime Ragos, Quit Foodborne Illness
    • Julia Ranney, Middle for Food Security
    • Kali Kniel, University of Delaware
    • Bob Gravani, Cornell University
    • Barbara Chamberlin, Recent Mexico Notify University
    • Jeffrey Sindelar, Univesity of Wisconsin
    • Tanya Roberts, OSU-Middle for Foodborne Illness Analysis & Prevention
    • Kelly Nuckolls, NSAC
    • Barbara Kowalcyk, CFI

Joining Brashears for the separate teleconference with industry representatives had been Kiecker, Nintemann, Khan, and Reed, And the checklist of likely particiaptes used to be as follows:

Industry Representatives 

  • Teleconference Attendance​
    • Andrew Bailey, Nationwide Pork Producers Council
    • Sarah Brandmeier, Consumer Brands Association
    • John Dillard, OFW Laws
    • Brian Eyink, Hogan Lovells US LLP
    • Lindy Froebel, Nationwide Turkey Federation
    • Casey Gallimore, North American Meat Institute
    • Oscar Garrison, United Egg Producers
    • Rebecca, MAckey, NTF
    • KatieRose McCullough, North American Meat Institute
    • Ashley Peterson, NCC
    • Lisa Picard, Nationwide Turkey Federation
    • Brett Schwemer, OFW
    • Kathryn Simmons, Nationwide Cattlemen’s Beef Association
    • Jolyda Swaim, Olsson Frank
    • Weeda Terman, Matz PC
    • Betsy Booren, Consumer Brands Association
    • Cheyenne McEndaffer, US Meat Export Federation
    • Allison Rivera, NCBA

On the Senate-confirmed checklist of Presidential-appointed outdated Underneath-Secretaries are Dr. Elisabeth Hagen August 2010-December 2013; Dr. Richard Allen Raymond July 2005-January 2009; Elsa A. Murano October 2001-December 2004; and Catherine Woteki July 1997-January 2001.   

(To enroll for a free subscription to Food Security News, click here.)

Learn Extra


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here